New Cougar Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
954 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to have my radar detector wired into my car instead of having that ugly cord dangling across my dash. My ultimate dream would to be to have it hooked up to one of the dead switches but when I read the how-to's I don't think I'd be able to do all of that. A simple on/off toggle switch would be good enough for me. Now I realize this question has been asked in the past but I couldn't find enough info. I would appreciate all the responses you cougar-heads could give me...ideas...suggestions...where i could wire it into...what you have done...anything! THANKS!!

P.S. - I have never done any wiring before. I'm deprived :( ... haha try not to be TOO technical...I've learned a lot from this site though.

·
Registered
4,861 Posts
You can run the black wire to any ground in the vehicle, and the red to a switch. You could make one of the dead panel switches functional, or add a switch somewhere (under the headlight switch panel is a good place). Then run the other output on the switch to a 12v source.

·
Registered
954 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I want to put a toggle switch under the steering wheel, to the left...under the headlight switch. Where would I find a ground and 12v power source nearby?? Again...not electrically inclined. Thanks!

·
Registered
954 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hey, thanks a lot, I'll give that a try here in the next few days. haha...I have mono right now so I can't hardly talk, let alone go to work and I can't go to classes at the university, nothing better to do than work on the ol' cougar!! :) Thanks again...I'd still like to know from anyone else how and where they have theirs hooked up...

·
Registered
4,973 Posts