New Cougar Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5,443 Posts
lost of people say test pipe increases top end and lowers low end. I do agree with this as it currently is the problem on my car.
High flow cat I have no experience with yet.

·
Registered
2,896 Posts
GMK has shown best overall gains with a catback and gutting the stock cat and pipe... Not sure how this worked out but the best avg. when avg.ed of loss of torgue and gain of HP etc. is with that setup.
Hope that helps Don.

·
Registered
1,085 Posts
how would increased air flow result in a decrease on the lower end?

·
Registered
2,682 Posts
Pros of a gutten cat/cats- Better sounding exhaust, louder exhaust(could be good or bad), more power (1-4 HP), and you know you will never have the problem of getting your cat clogged or decreased performance of a bad cat. Getting a testpipe is much cheaper than replacing the cat, and oh yeah did i mention a much better sounding exhaust :biggrin:

Cons of gutted cat/cats-Your vechile is illegal, you will have a hard time finding a shop work on your exhaust if you have no cats, you have to buy mil eliminators for 50 bucks, You exhaust will be louder(could be good or bad) In some states where you have emission testing to register your vechile... you may fail,

·
Registered
3,206 Posts
I have a start flowing exhaust if u will. MSDS headers to MSDS y-pipe to Turbendz SS test-pipe to Magnaflow cat-back dual exit. I put it all on at the sometime basically so i cant tell u the difference from the test-pipe or cat but i felt a great power gain from all that! LOL With the test-pipe it does my car my illegal but i don't have emissions testing only a visual and i can always put my cat back in to pass both. Did i lose some low-end with the test-pipe maybe idk!

·
Registered
1,028 Posts