New Cougar Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts
S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well here's the deal. Ever since I got the L's I have been driving a automatic and now that I get to get my own car I decided to get a Coug. Anyway I want to get a Manual trans but being I have no knowledge of what it feels like and need some opinions/facts.

Do Manuals take long to get used to?

Is it worth it to go Manual over Auto for racing needs? (well I know yes... but does it matter A TON?)

and last but not least... What do you prefer to have? (not drive)

Thanks Guys and Gals!

·
Registered
1,325 Posts
It really depends on the owner. I know for a fact that I kick my own ass everyday for not getting a stick. I hate my auto, but having one makes it a lot easier to drive in traffic. Its not hard to get used to driving a stick, everyone needs to know. Its beneficiary for everyone.

·
Registered
1,363 Posts
it's second nature after a while
i never drove a stick until my second cougar
now i'd much rather have a stick
however.. if i lived in a big city, i'd hate it for traffic jams
luckily i don't
and as far as racing goes, it makes a huge difference

·
Registered
6,301 Posts
When I got my cougar I didn't know how to drive a stick(aka: MTX) so I had the sales guy drive it for me. That one had a lot more miles then the auto(aka: ATX) that I actually bought, but from what I can remeber the MTX felt faster and more sporty. Which after I found these board that has been confirmed over and over again. My ATX isn't bad but now that I looking to do some upgrades, its sometimes more expensive, or can't be done on the ATX. Also there isn't quite as many upgrades available for the ATX. But either way at 16 I would have loved to have either one.

But then again this was my car after a school bus ran a stop sign when I was 16, my next car wasn't much better, so when I finally got a cougar I was in heaven.

Attachments

X

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Originally posted by: SportinStyle