New Cougar Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,854 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The links are not working in the first thread so I have created this one

I am just getting into really taking care of my Cougar had it for a few months so I want it to last for few more years.

Anyways, when do I polish, wax and now something I never heard of the use of claybar.
Can someone provide the steps you do in cleaning your car

Do I;
1. wash car
2. dry car
3. wax? or polish? or claybar? or something else
4. wax? or polish? or claybar? or something else
5. and so on

·
Registered
46 Posts
1. Wash

2. Clay bar- Dont press hard with the claybar, or you will just end up putting scratches into your car, you just need to use the lube that comes with it, and just glide the clay bar over the surface. Its just basically supposed to get the contaminants off your paint.

3. Rewash

4. Polish- It puts oils back into your paint that are drawn out by weather, washing, etc.

5. Wax.

This is a really good site to look at for all that information! Click here!

Hope this helps!!!!

·
Premium Member
2,810 Posts
Claybar is exactly what it sounds like.. a bar of clay you can find at auto stores for detailing.. You rub it over your paint, and it pulls all the embedded dirt out of the paint.. it makes your paint feel and look brand new.. It's something I think should be done about twice a year. You hafta make sure there is no wax or anything on your paint before you do it. Some people reccomend washing your car with dawn to strip the wax off of your car before claying.

·
Registered
536 Posts
All very good advice but a few points here may need some clarification...

You hafta make sure there is no wax or anything on your paint before you do it. Some people reccomend washing your car with dawn to strip the wax off of your car before claying.