New Cougar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all!

I'm new to the forum and to Cougars in general, but I'm happy to be here. I just picked up a 2001 Cougar 2.5 with a manual with the specific purpose of building an amateur Rallycross car. It's my first time doing anything like this but it's a long time dream.

All I've done so far is pull the engine since it may or may not be blown (picked up the car for $500, engine state unknown). I'll post progress here along with photos as I go. And if anyone has any advice please share!

Things in planning on doing so far:
  • Rebuilding the engine, while adding SVT induction.
  • Porting and polishing the heads.
  • Figuring out something with the exhaust. It's highly restrictive just by looking at it, I'm sure there is some hp to be gained, might end up making my own headers.
  • Stripping out as much as possible to save weight, including the a/c system, HVAC controls/plumbing, interior bits and whatever else I can.
  • Upgrading the brakes.
  • Lifting the car an inch, taller springs/struts/more travel.
  • Having it tuned and dynoed.
  • Gut the pre-cats
  • Whatever else I need to do to prepare for SCCA rules.
The part I'm not 100% on is if I want to keep it street legal, or just for track use, I may end up keeping the HVAC system if I street it.

·
Registered
2,531 Posts
Not bad. Like the truck too.

·
Registered
3,134 Posts
Welcome. I remember seeing that car for sale.
Its going to be tough finding taller struts and springs that fit, the easiest solution to a little lift is probably going to be spring spacers. I think it would be possible to install spacers on the subframe and motor mounts as well in order to lift the body off the drivetrain a bit, but that would all be custom fabrication work.