New Cougar Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After hours of looking threw forums i found some info but not all that i wanted. And because looking threw 20+ pages of replies is to daunting ill ask for help. I have a 01 Zn cougar not sure if i should just keep it or go with an engine swap. From what i've seen 01 dont have alot to choose from when it comes to svt parts. Any ideas of what engine's work best or can i get more out of my 2.5l. My goal is around 250-275hp from the 2.5l. Is that to much to ask for?? If it is from past experiences what engine would work best. I'm a man who enjoys a loud motor:biggrin: and sorry if this post is in the wrong place im a newbie

·
Administrator
15,530 Posts
If you want that type of power out of a 2.5 OR a 3.0, you'll need some sort of forced induction. Nitrous is the best bang for the buck as far as that goes.

You read wrong about the SVT stuff. You can add any of the SVT parts to your car's engine.

The only other choice for an engine is a 3.0 Duratec.

If your 2.5 is running fine, I'd start by adding some bolt on modifications (all of which can be transferred over to the 3.0 if you decide to do that down the line).

Cold air intake system, SVT lite upgrade (read SVT stickie at the top of this section), headers/y-pipe, catback exhaust, and definitely some suspension mods. The car will never be fast, but you can make it more fun.

By the way, if it's an ATX, just stop now.

·
Premium Member
1,600 Posts
All the SVT parts will swap onto your 01 2.5 engine with out a problem.

The stock 2.5 engine is 170HP.....SVT parts.....intake....header....exhaust will not get you the 250-275 you're looking for.....

But, all of the above listed parts will make a BIG difference....

Do you have stick or an auto tranny?

The biggest question to answer.....What do you want out of this car and why?