New Cougar Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts
N

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
TY for answering my post.. I'm A shade tree certifide mechanic.. But this cougar(wifes car) has been a nightmare.. BUt I have gotten 113k out of the Biatch(2nd owner). This year has been a windfall of repairs( New Tranny,waterpump,thermo,radiator,battery routing cables(recall),Red Top Optima battery,about the fourth set of rubber(already about bald again),& lastly Fuel filter. So now im ready to mod the car as we got another vehicle for daily use..Currently all check engine lights are on *engine light lower left corner & wrench *upper cluster..Car now sputters badly engine light flashes & battery/alt light comes on at higher speeds(once you get there)replaced that(alt) once at Ford but the piece of crap factory replacement looks like its dying 3-4 months after warranty ran out installed 8-2002 what a coincidence.Im glad I can laugh at this point and im not giving up on her. I did go to auto zone and got my free OBD diagnostic codes and they read as follows

P0301 The pcm has determined that a misfire has occured in cylinder #1
P0351 The pcm has determined that a malfunction exists in the primary or secondary electrical circutis for ingnition coil "A"
P0305 the pcm has determined that a misfire has occured in cylinder #5
P0401 the pcm has determined that there is insufficient flow in the exaust gas recirculation system Help!

·
Registered
5,817 Posts
I would start with the easiest things first, plugs, then wires, then coil pack.

The wrench light is just a "maintenence" light, it comes on every ? miles, reminding you to change oil, ect ect. There are two buttons you hold down for five seconds to turn it off. Try combos of "reset" and "units", or "reset" and "select". I think it's the former.