New Cougar Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay so I'm really new to these cars. I'm a die hard Ford fan (mercury included) and I am a T-Bird guy but my girlfriend has a 2000 cat with a 2.5L and I wat to learn everything about them. I know there's the search feature and I've been looking and searching for a few hours now. I had no idea there was so much stuff for this car. I learned about cc.com and have been looking through there too. So my plans are not real big since it's just the girlfriends car, but I plan to at least get a nice borla dual exhaust and port the manifold and CAI. My question is this. I know it's pretty vague, but what gains can be expected from ported upper/lower manifolds, bigger throttle body (if they make them?) and cold air intake? I don't expect much but a decent gain would be great. ie 30-40 bhp.

Although I don't plan on doing a lot of aftermarket things to this car. I plan on keeping it running great, which requires good knowledge about it. I'd guess it's an OBD II system. so would it be okay to get some kind of aftermarket cats? I wouldn't think so. And where are the rear OBD II sensors at? I guess I'll have a shop cut off right after those sesnsors and put the 2.5" from there back. I've heard a few nice sounding cougars with duals.

What kind of maintenance items are best for this car? I'll be using Mobil 1 synthetic oil, but what kind of transmission fluid?

Any other helpful info would be great guys. Sorry for any repeat common questions but I want to get it all straight. Thanks again guys. This forums is nice, but I kinda expected more people! lol.

Oh and one more thing, anyone ever notice the camped feeling of the interior? I'm 6'3" 210lbs and my forehead is always touching the sun visor! Is there any way to make track extensions for the seats or anything?

Thanks again guys.

-Thomas

·
Registered
222 Posts