New Cougar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im a new driver and thinking about getting a couagar. I live in the ann arbor michigan area and wanted tips on driving in the snow in general and in a cougar also and tips on getting unstuck and fun things to do in the winter in a cougar. Any info is greatly appreciated. P.S. It will be a automatic (Ya I know I suck )

G

·
Sorry, can't help you!! I now live in AZ and have forgotten everything in the two years here. Actually, I am from WI and haven't forgotten everything.

Biggest thing to remember - it takes longer usually to stop. ABS can help - but only if used correctly. Don't know about the traction control system - never had a car with one when I lived up in the tundra. If yours will not have it: Get used to wheel spin. Go to a large deserted parking lot, and have some fun. This will give you an idea of what the car can and cannot do in snow.

Reverse donuts are fun in the snow!!!

Wilde

·
is a pop sensation
13,668 Posts
If you don't get traction control, try starting from a stop in second gear when its slippery. You won't accelerate very quickly, but you should slow down in the snow anyway.

As for getting stuck, it's similar to being in mud, try rocking back and forth to break out of your rut. If you spin your tires excessively without moving, you'll form a layer of ice under your tires. Also carrying a small bag of ice melt, sand, etc. can be useful. Spead it around near your front tires, and it will give you something to grip.

I am in complete agreement with wilde about the parking lot thing. After the first snow find an empty parking lot and feel you car out. I noticed that under braking without ABS, the back end likes to lock up and get a littl squirrely. Nothing too horrible, but something you'd want to get used to before you are driving in traffic.

G

·