New Cougar Forum banner
1 - 20 of 172 Posts

·
Registered
585 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Fix dimming lights/gauges problem how-to

I am not very good at explaining things but I'll try to make it as understandable as I can...

1) disconnect negative battery.
2) lift car
3) I had to take off my y-pipe to get to the wires, but you may be able to get to them without removing the pipe.
4) unhook all the wires on the alternator (the thick red charge wire that's held on with a nut, the three wire connector, and the single wire connector.)
5) Get out from under the car and from the top of the engine bay, pull those wires up for access.
6) Locate the three wire connector you pulled off the alternator and cut the red wire on that connector (cut the wire about 3 or 4 inches away from the connector side so that you have room to strip and attach a new wire to it.
7) since you cut the red wire, you now have two separate wires. The wire that goes into the engine bay you will not use and should be taped or something. The red short cut wire that comes off the 3 wire harness will need to be stripped.
8) Extend the stripped red wire (with 18 or 16 awg wire) and run it to the red main alternator wire somehow (the one held on with the nut). I don't know if splicing into that wire is a very good idea, but that's what I did and it worked for me. I used silicone glue to seal it and I taped all around the glue.
9) push the wires back down and connect them to the alternator again.
10) hook the y-pipe back up if it was taken off
11) lower the car and reconnect the battery.

I hope that makes more sense. if there are any parts that you don't understand, let me know and I will try to explain better.

Sorry, I am not very strong with automotive terminology.

·
Registered
585 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
RE: Fix dimming lights/gauges problem how-to

If anyone thinks they can explain this better than I did, please be my guest.

·
Registered
2,539 Posts