New Cougar Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
892 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i'm a car newbie pretty much and need an oil change. i'd rather do it myself than pay whatever it is to have sum1 do it.i know i take out the filter drain the oil and put in new oil but i know its not that easy. first off, whree is the filter and second do i need a new filter when i change it?
thanx guys i appreciate u'r help

·
El Mucho Post Whoro
12,140 Posts
This should probably go in How-To, so I'll move it there, but I'll answer first. :)

When you're under your car you'll see a big white canister sticking out of the engine (although if you have been going to some oil change places it might be black or orange, maybe even blue), that's the oil filter. Yes, you need to change it when you change your oil. And you drain the oil from the drain plug in the bottom of the oil pan, not from the filter.

G

·
Compared to everything else on the V6 (I'm not sure about the I4), the oil filter is frippin' easy to get to.

Crawl under the car close to the passenger headlight, look half-way up the engine on the front of the engine, you'll see the filter. It's about 3 3/4 inches around and it'll be white (Motorcraft or STP), orange (Fram), or black (covered with oil).

On the center rear bottom of the engine is the oil pan. The drain plug is in the back. I'm not sure about other model years (mine is '99), but mine is a 15mm bolt.

You're gonna spill some oil, especially when taking the oil filter off. This is a fact of life. Just try to mop most of it off when a rag and the rest will burn off in about 20 minutes after travelling. It takes about 5.5 quarts to fill.

If you don't change your oil filter, then there's no need to change the oil. If you don't change the filter, just take the oil that you've drained and put it back in the engine. Better yet, just drain the oil, put the drain plug back in. You're doing the same thing.