New Cougar Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
292 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently got my Jet Chip and put it in and I was wondering if it is really working. Ofcourse im not going to feel that much of a power gain right away, but I really have no way of telling. I had a performance chip in before i installed the jet chip and every time i took it out the car would shut off. The jet chip does not do that, so I was wondering if there was any way to tell if its working.

·
Registered
2,159 Posts
I guess I'm not buying a Jet chip

Wish I could offer something more constructive, but I would just say to make sure your contacts are clean (as a computer technician, I can tell you that a pencil eraser actually works well for this). And disconnect/reconnect your battery.

G

·
If the car starts then it works, if you add a chip and the info. is not being read then the car won't start, you must have gotten one of the crappy ones or something, soon as i put mine in it hauled ass, I have an ATX though, you probably have an MTX, which I've heard it's not worth buying one for it, they don't notice it.

I love mine, my car used to be slow, now it's fast as hell, and the rest of you need some of my horsepower.
HEHE!!!

ROB

·
Registered
2,159 Posts
Hey FROSTY, did it improve the shifting? The only difference between chipping an MTX and an ATX is that you can firm up the shifts on the ATX with the right chip (they're already plenty firm on an MTX for obvious reasons).

In my opinion, the problem with the ATX is not the shifting anyway, it's the gearing the driveline losses. Someone dyno'ed an ATX contour V6 and it only put down about 119hp/125tq. That's a 30% loss from 170 and about 20hp less than an MTX.

V6 ATX Dyno Plot

G

·