New Cougar Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts
L

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My name is Dale and I'm a newbie at NECO and just wanted to wish you all a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

I also have a few problems with my car that I was wondering if anyone can give me some insight on.

The first problem I have encountered is like a vibration in my front end. When driving I really don't feel the vibration in my butt, I feel it more on the steering wheel and in my legs.

The other problem I have also encountered is a like rotten egg smell when I get higher up in rpms. Have any of you encountered these problems before?

Thank you for any and all help!
Dale

·
Registered
454 Posts
Hi and Welcome! Where are you from in Ohio?

There are a great bunch of folks here so I am sure they will all make you feel right at home. I'm not on much anymore...but today the boss is gone and I'm bored!

I know the vibration could mean that you need your wheels/tires rotated and balanced. Check the air pressure in your tires as well as look for a bent rim. I had a wheel bearing go out at 55K miles or so and that was one of the first symptoms. Just a heads up as quite a few of us have had that problem. PITA!!!

I *believe* the rotten egg smell had to do with a problem with the catalytic converter...I also believe there was a recall...check with a local dealer. I have a 99 as well but did not have this particular problem...alot of peeps did. If I'm wrong, I'm sure someone will correct me.

Good Luck!

-Beth-

·
Registered
2,390 Posts
Catalytic converter most likely for egg smell.

Vibrations can be pretty much any single or combination of suspension and driveline components.

If mostly at 60-70 mph but better at 80+ and hardly noticeable under 60 then there is a good chance of just being a wheel balance issue. (you should hope!)

Otherwise it could be:
Wheel bearing- (unlikely unless there is grinding noises that go away when turning one direction or another)