New Cougar Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,510 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone know where I can get plans or software to build me a subwoofer enclosure?

·
Registered
1,289 Posts
just build one, there are no plans or magic little programs to do it. you first figure how much airspace you need (according to specs), then make a box that has that much space inside. its not real tough.

·
Registered
3,925 Posts
There's a bit more to it than that.

You have to take into account basket displacement, strange angles for the Cougar, not to mention if you're doing ported then you need info on port length, diameter, and type. Its a very exact science to create a "perfect" box. I've been doing this for over 10 yrs now and I just threw another box away I did, because it didn't sound "just right". There is software out there, but there is nothing like sitting next to the box and listening for port noise, baffle, or reverb. It takes a well-tuned ear to build a good box...

E1

·
Registered
1,350 Posts
Originally posted by: EternalOne
There's a bit more to it than that.

You have to take into account basket displacement, strange angles for the Cougar, not to mention if you're doing ported then you need info on port length, diameter, and type. Its a very exact science to create a "perfect" box. I've been doing this for over 10 yrs now and I just threw another box away I did, because it didn't sound "just right". There is software out there, but there is nothing like sitting next to the box and listening for port noise, baffle, or reverb. It takes a well-tuned ear to build a good box...

E1

Amen to that-

·
Registered
1,258 Posts
true, unless its just a plain and simple box, even if it is ported.

·
Registered
1,510 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I'll explain how I want my box - and how difficult I think it would be to make.