New Cougar Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1,655 Posts
here u go..

How to make you paint job look like it was done by pros

This how to is meant to help people to produce professional quality paint jobs at home

Note: This how to is for accent pieces such as head lights and interior pieces and is not recommended for whole paint jobs.
Note: I am not an expert I just learned from a perfectionist if you think I missed something PM me and I’d be glad to add it.

Items needed:
Primer (to be as similar to that of the main color as possible also if it’s plastic buy the good stuff)
Sand paper (I use 320, 400 and 2000 grit)
Menthol (same as stove alcohol)
Paint (if you don’t have a spray gun just use spray paint)
Clear coat
Roll of paper tower
A smooth clean rag similar to that of car drying rags

When you first get started you’re going to want to sand down the surface to give the paint something to bond to….. For this you can use both the 320 and 400. When using wet/dry sand paper remember that the more water the better but at the same time keep the water at a level that you’re not soaked at the end.

Once you feel that you’ve sanded the surface enough its time to paint, when using a new spray can it is important to shake it a lot before using it. Also it may be smart to spray the first five seconds area to prevent drips (this should not be needed if it is shaken properly) but if drips do happen to end up on the piece don’t worry but it aside let it dry and then sand down the drips with 400 grit.

To spray using a gun or a spray can, technique is everything luckily its simple. When spraying keep at least 8-12 inch’s away from the object when spraying you can either go left to right or up and down but remember that if it has multiple angles you must do this so that every inch is covered.